Board of Governors

UNSSC Board of Governors

As stated in the UNSSC Statute, the Board of Governors is responsible for:

(a) Formulating general policy for the activities of the Staff College;

(b) Considering the work programme and budget, on the basis of proposals submitted by the Director of the Staff College.

(c) Considering ways and means of enhancing the financial resources of the Staff College with a view to ensuring the effectiveness and continuity of its operations;

(d) Evaluating the activities of the Staff College and their impact and reporting thereon to the Chief Executives Board;

(e) Submitting an annual report to the Chief Executives Board.

In 2009, a newly appointed Board of Governors took office, following a process of reforms aimed at guaranteeing a more accountable and predictable governance structure. Board Members are appointed by the Secretary-General for a two-year period, with the possibility of a one-year extension.

The UNSSC Board meets annually.

Members of the UNSSC Board


Ms. Susana Malcorra Chef de Cabinet, EOSG

Members (alphabetical order):            

Ms Anne-Bigitte Albrectsen Deputy Executive Director, UNFPA
Mr Alexander Aleinikoff
Deputy High Commissioner for Refugees, UNHCR
Mr Elliot Harris Director, NY Office, UNEP
Mr Sarwahr Hobohm Director of the Organizational Strategy and Coordination Group, Office of the DG, UNIDO
Ms Lakshmi Menon Associate Vice-President, Corporate Services Department, IFAD
Ms Catherine Pollard Assistant Secretary-General, OHRM UN Secretariat
Ms Jane Stewart ILO Special Representative to the United Nations and Vice-Chair of the HLCP
Mr Jens Wandel Assistant Administrator, Director, Bureau of Management, UNDP 

Ex-officio Members:

Mr Jafar Javan Director, UNSSC
Ms Sally Fegan-Wyles Acting Head, UNITAR
Mr KIM Won-soo Secretary of the CEB